Jackson Essay Selected for Best American Essays

A creative non-fiction essay that Lawrence Jackson wrote was selected for the Best American Essays 2014. The collection is published annually by Houghton Mifflin and Harcourt and the guest editor this year is John Jeremiah Sullivan. The series editor is Robert Atwan. His essay is called “Slickheads,” and it appeared in the journal N+1 in winter 2013. Dr Jackson’s previous essays, “To Danville” (2007), “Christmas in Baltimore, 2009,” (2011) and “The Ledger” (2012),  had previously been selected as honorable mentions.

Hofmann Honored, Published

Richie HofmannGraduate student Richie Hofmann’s first book of poetry, Second Empire, will be published in November 2015 by Alice James Books and has won the Beatrice Hawley Award for Poetry.